Ivanhoe Harriers Banner


King's Birthday Honours

11 Jun 2024

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) awarded to Club President Jeff Franklin!

Congratulations to the Ivanhoe Harriers Club President Jeff Franklin for being recognised for his service to athletics, being awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia! Jeff has been involved in many different roles with the club since joining in 1977, known to past members as an avid competing athlete and more recently as the Club President and Coach which is a position he has held since 2015. His continuous diligent efforts brought the club back to its feet from a slump that could have seen its end. More recently, through many years of tireless effort he played a pivotal role in winning the Council's approval for a major Chelsworth Park upgrade which will see a future home training ground and facilities for the Harriers athletes.

Congratulations from all involved with the Harriers, a very well earned recognition!

Notes from the honours list for Jeff:

Ivanhoe Harriers Athletic Club
  • President, since 2015.
  • Vice-President, 1988-1994.
  • Committee Member, since 1984.
  • Former Secretary.
  • Former Treasurer.
  • Coach, current.
  • Registrar, 2018-2023.
  • Team Manager, Summer Track and Field/Winter Cross Country, 1980s-1990s, and current.
  • Member, since 1977.
  • Delegate, Ivanhoe Harriers Athletic Club, Athletics Victoria, since 2015.
  • Manager/Coach, Cross-Country Team, Associated Grammar Schools Victoria, current.
  • Athletics Coach, Ivanhoe Grammar School, current.
  • Co-Chair, Willinda Park Management Committee, 2010s.

Jeff standing in font of Ivanhoe Harriers banner

AGM and Presentation Night

17 May 2024

The Annual General Meeting, on 15th May, was well attended and of course, the presentation of trophies was the highlight.
Notable attendees were life members, John Boas and Noel Burrows and special guests, John Griffith and wife Pam, very long and loyal supporters of the Club.
On this occasion, the Club unveiled a new trophy which has been donated jointly by John Griffith and Ashley Woods. (Ashley is currently residing in London)

The trophy, The Woods/Griffith Trophy, to be awarded to the “most outstanding junior jumper in the Club”, in essence replacing and expanding on a previous, very dated junior high jump trophy which had been donated by John back in the late 1970s. John and Ashley were thanked profusely for their generous donation.

Carla being presented the Woods/Griffth Trophy by John Griffith

Carla being presented the Woods/Griffth Trophy by John Griffith

Congratulations to all athletes and trophy winners:

W.A.Rawlinson Trophy: Jamie Blackburn
Statewide Trophy: Thomas Langdon
Hugh Lowe Memorial Trophy: David Greig
Banyule Trophy: Kate Bukovsan
St.James Ivanhoe Trophy: Perrin Theocharides
F.J.Holpen Trophy: David Burke
Jack McCann Trophy: Anne Bukovsan
Buffalo Sports / Athletes Foot Trophy: Eliza Nelson
Lew Hall Trophy: Theodora Hally
Geoff Legge Trophy: Lonardo Donareli
Boas/Hancock Trophy: Glen Nicholson
COVID Cup: Barry Greig
Woods/Griffth Trophy: Carla Parris
6km Handicap- 2024: Murray Fairplay

Additional medal honours:
Lonardo Donareli: National Champion in Men's U14 800m and 2nd in U14 1500m at Australian T&F Championships.
Finalist in the Victorian T&F Championships: Jamie Blackburn MU20 3000m (1st), MU20 1500m (4th); Liam Furlong MU20 3000m (13th); Leonardo Donarelli MU14 800m (1st); Theadora Hally WU20 3000m, WU20 1500m (12th); Kate Bukovsan WU16 800m (10th); Carla Parris WU13 800m (5th)

Australian Track & Field Championships

21 Apr 2024

Congratulations to young, Leonardo Donarelli, who contested the Victorian Championships then travelled to Adelaide for the Australian Championships, where he won gold in the Under 14 Men's 800m and silver in the Under 14 Men's 1500m. Congratulations Leonardo from all at the Club.

Full results

Leonardo on top of the dais after receiving his medal
Leonardo on top of the dais after receiving his medal

Annual 6km Handicap Run for All Comers

20 Mar 2024

The annual 6km all comers handicap is coming up on Saturday, April 20 at 9:30am (registration at 8:30am). Ivanhoe Harriers host the event each year to kick off the AV Cross Country season so if you are interested, contact the registrar (registrar@ivanhoeharriers.org.au) and we'll get you an entry and a handicap sorted out.

Location: Eaglemont Tennis Courts car park, The Boulevard, East Ivanhoe.

This is a great way to introduce yourself to the club and the program if you're thinking of having a go at Cross Country this year. All ages are welcome!
Don't forget to hang around for the sausage sizzle as well. See you there!

Poster containing details of when and where the event is

Victorian Track & Field Championships

4 Mar 2024

We had 8 contestants of the highest quality and came away with two Victorian Championships… a massive result.

Jamie Blackburn won the Under 20 Men's 3000m final in the time of 8:34.24 with a very well judged race. He maintained good steady position during the race, moved up to control the pace with 2 laps to go and showed superior speed and endurance to win comfortably. Congratulations to Jamie.

Leonardo Donarelli won the Under 14 Boys 800m running a very patient race and showing superior speed to win in 2:09.02. Congratulations to Leonardo on a fine performance.

These victories are the result of a lot of hard work and diligent training. It is a milestone for the Club, success in these highly contested events is a great indicator of our progress.
Congratulations to all of our contestants in these Championships: Jamie, Kate Bukovsan, Leonardo, Liam Furlong, David Greig, Theadora Hally, Alex Linke and Carla Parris.

Full results

Jamie on top of the dais after receiving his medal
Jamie on top of the dais after receiving his medal

AVSL Track & Field Season Concludes

20 Feb 2024

With the AVSL season drawing to a close we can reflect on our performance, but more importantly embrace our continuous improvement. Team performance and PBs indicate that we are on the right track with some wonderful PBs achieved this summer.
Last season, in Division 4, we placed 6th after winning the Division 5 flag the previous year. This season we finished an improved 4th, just behind Melbourne Uni., but well behind Williamstown (1st) and Ballarat YCW (2nd), so we still have some work to do. Our personal performances have been outstanding this year, but we still need to increase our numbers for next season to be able to compete with the teams above us.

Final Ladder:
Division 4
1 Williamstown 181,014 126 AP
2 Ballarat YCW 155,224 119 AP
3 Melbourne Uni 99,465 86  
4 Ivanhoe 84,136 80  
5 Old Xaverians 90,240 78  
6 Frankston 74,521 65  
7 Coburg 63,966 53  
8 St Kevins 63,419 52  
9 Brunswick 49,054 39 AR
10 Maccabi 46,097 32 AR
AP: Automatic Promotion.
AR: Automatic Relegation.
Previous Year