Ivanhoe Harriers Banner


Annual General Meeting

27 May 2021

Luckily, we were just able to fit in our AGM last night before lockdown was reimposed.

Several awards were handed out on the night:

  • FJ Holpen trophy - Best A grade athlete - David Burke - 34 events across every round in the season.
  • Jack McCann trophy - Most outstanding contribution to the club in the previous year - Barry Greig.
  • St James trophy - First awarded in 1936 - Most improved athlete - Ben Morrison.
  • Lew Hall trophy - significant commitment by an under 23 athlete - Charles Shea.
  • Jeff Legg trophy - most outstanding performance junior 800-10,000m - Harry Shaw.
  • Rawlinson trophy - Best track and field athlete - David Greig.
  • 6km CC Handicap winner Zack Phillip.

  • Medals awarded for state and national representation:
    • Ben Eddings - 100m 10.99 and 200m 22.58
    • Harry Shaw - Men's Steeple Chase & Men's 800m.


Life memberships awarded to Richard Russell and James Lynch

Life memberships presented to Richard Russell and James Lynch
by President Jeff Franklin.

Life Membership Awards:

James Lynch
Joined the club as an athlete in 1984. Served on the committee from 2009-present including 3 years as Vice President.
He has been instrumental in starting the training program at Chelsworth Park. He attends every Tuesday and Thursday, is a qualified Coach, and coaches the junior group in middle distance. His most notable athlete so far is Jal Wishart who set a new Club record. James has been a fixture at Chelsworth training since 2016, very valuable for our relationship with IGS.

Richard Russell
Joined the club as an athlete in 1984. Served as a committee member from 1990-1995 and again from 2015-present. Treasurer from 1991-1995.
He has assisted with the Saturday morning coaching of Ivanhoe Grammar students at both Track & Field and Cross Country since 2016, thus helping to provide Ivanhoe Harriers visibility and presence.
Additional achievements:

  • Australian representative at the 1989 World Cross Country Championships
  • Australian champion U20 cross country (1990)
  • Five time Victorian champion between 1990 and 1998 in 3000m steeple, 5000 metres, 8km CC, 1/2 marathon, and 16km CC
  • IHAC team of the century - 3000m Steeple and Cross Country
  • Club record in the Men's Open 3000m Steeple, 4x1500m Steeple